A Warning about Nintendo’s ARMS

I’ve got a confession to make: I didn’t really care for ARMS.

Now, put down the torches and pitchforks, let me clarify. The ARMS test demo was fun. I caught two of the demos, each time playing with a friend. It was neat, fun for an hour, but not a game I would ever spend money on.

The reason is simple.

Despite the quirky characters, the varied game modes, and the overflowing amounts of Nintendo polish and shine, ARMS is a fighting game. I’m not a fan of fighting games (exception granted to Super Smash Bros, which only barely counts), but I really thought that ARMS would hit a sweet spot with me. The characters are goofy and fun, the mechanics are novel and innovative, and yet… I disliked it.

Now, I’m not saying that ARMS is a bad game. I think a lot of players will have a great time casually as well as competitively. There’s clearly hours upon hours of entertainment to be had in Nintendo’s newest IP, but just be warned:

If you don’t like fighting games, you won’t like ARMS.

Leave a comment